A new season

The other day I had a string of emails from the friends I made at Taizé.

It’s only been a month since I went, but it seems like ages. I’d almost forgotten what a great week it was, so it was nice to hear from them all, and to remember the journeys we made – both ‘inside and outside’ as one of them said.

It’s evident from our exchanges that in many different ways we have taken what we experienced at Taizé and imparted something of that special place to others. So hopefully we will all continue the correspondence, and remind each other, from time to time, what we shared.

So September is here and a new season…the colours are changing and the evenings closing in. I am now planning some retreats for the rest of the year.

I have to confess that I have missed a couple of weekend retreats over the summer, during July and August; for a number of reasons – I went to Taizé, I got busy and preoccupied with job hunting, and I simply didn’t feel in the mood for a retreat and the self-reflection and enclosure that often comes with a retreat.

The break has helped though, and I’m now more inspired to explore some other retreats.

Thankfully they’re not all about solitude and self-reflection. This weekend – weather permitting – I’m going on a day retreat that involves walking and meditation. I’ve been indoors job-hunting a lot lately, so getting out and walking appeals much more than sitting indoors.

I’m wondering how this retreat will help me with where I’m at right now. I’m job-hunting in a recession and don’t feel particularly positive about the whole thing – can this retreat speak to me in some way? Can it help me to look outside of my circumstances and find peace – and a sense of God in the middle of it all?

2 thoughts on “A new season

  1. Your references to vocation and job-hunting here and previously bring to mind a book I came across earlier in a library earlier this year. It doesn’t provide all the answers – funny, that! – but made a lot of sense to me. I wish I’d purchased a copy when I saw it in Oxfam Books a few weeks ago…

    At 117 pages, “Let Your Life Speak: Listening for the Voice of Vocation” isn’t a long book or difficult to read. The author, Parker J Palmer is an American Quaker. What follows comes from a review at http://www.faithalivebooks.com/books/jb_life_speak.html

    With wisdom, compassion, and gentle humor, Palmer invites the reader to listen to the inner teacher and follow its leadings toward a sense of meaning and purpose. Telling stories from his own life and the lives of other who have made a difference, he shares insights gained from darkness and depression as well as fulfillment and joy, illuminating a pathway toward vocation for all who seek the true calling of their lives.

    Best wishes in your search – and thank you for sharing it. I myself hope to embark on a similar (job-seeking) one, after moving home, soon…

Leave a Reply

