The Bright Field

I returned home this afternoon after a lovely weekend retreat at the Acorn Christian Healing Foundation in Hampshire, looking at the theme of personal calling and what God’s unique purpose is for us in our lives.

On Friday evening, before leaving, I was a reluctant retreatant, immersed in Wimbledon and the World Cup and not especially in the mood for a weekend of reflection.

The weekend however has given birth to new ways of looking at vocation; ideas that I will no doubt return to in coming months (and in this blog).

I liked this poem that was read out over the weekend:

 

The Bright Field   by R.S. Thomas

I have seen the sun break through

to illuminate a small field for a while

and gone my way and forgotten it.

But that was the pearl of great price,

The one field that has the treasure in it

I realise now that I must give all that I have

to possess it

Life is not hurrying on to a receding future,

nor hankering after an imagined past.

It is the turning aside like Moses

to the miracle of the lit bush

to a brightness that seemed as transitory

as your youth once,

but is the eternity that awaits you.

Leave a Reply

